Posted by: Katie | October 8, 2012

2012 London Olympics

Joe has thankfully allowed me to share his uploaded post of his experiences witnessing the the 2012 London Olympics in person.

I am very proud to say that I have been part of the Olympics – I was a camera assistant at The Mall  and Hampton Court Palace. When Bradley Wiggins won the gold and Chris Froome won bronze in the Mens Time Trial, I got more excited then I thought I would. At that moment, I realised the point of the games, what it stood for, and why it was such a big deal for the UK to host them.

The most amazing thing that I saw was during the Womans Marathon when, an hour after the winner had crossed the finish line, the last runner (Caitriona Jennings) came down the mall who filled the very last position in this Olympic event – finishing 107th in 3:22.11 –  the the crowds stayed untill the end. Aas she came down the mall, they were all cheering for her to finish and, at this point, it wasn’t about losing; it was about the fact she had finished.

Joe with Jared Tallent’s silver medal

In my three weeks of working at London 2012, I have had an amazing time and the reasons I decided to do the job were:

  1. Once in a lifetime opportunity
  2. I can say I was part of the biggest event ever to come to Great Britain
  3. It would look good on my CV

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

