Posted by: Katie | October 4, 2012

Always Young Skin Care

Kristal allowed me to use her story as my second post on this blog and now she is kindly participating again – this time about her new business called Always Young Skin Care in Oregon. She makes her own organic products for clients and offers a variety of services, such as facials, waxing, and microdermabrasion.

Website
Facebook
Twitter

1. What prompted you to start your own business?

I had worked at two other salons and the last one wanted me to raise my prices by almost double.  I dug my heels in and said no because I didn’t want to do that to my clients;  after that, everything just fell into place. Within a weeks time, I had signed a lease, got my business and state board license, and had my room painted – when I set my mind to someting I go for it.

2. How did you come up with the name? Were there other names you had in mind?

The first name was going to be ABOUT FACE as it is about your face and had a military meaning as well. I live in a military-oriented town, so I thought the name would go over well. When I went to register the business name, ABOUT FACE, it was already taken! I was on such a time crunch to keep my clients in their appointments – of all people, my husband said, “What about ALWAYS YOUNG SKIN CARE?” and the name stuck (and the business name was not taken already).

3. What difficulties have you faced with starting the business?

To be honest, I havent had any diffculties yets. The biggest decision I make is how much to promote and where to promote. That is how I know I did the right thing starting my own place it was easy – I had no road blocks.

4. What have been the biggest rewards so far?

My biggest reward is that I am happy! My clients and family sense it and it’s just good all the way around. The next reward would be people’s positive responses about the products I make. I enjoy hearing client’s comments about how their skin has improved since using one of my products. What an honor to make people feel better about themselves!

5. Could you list some of the types of products you sell? what services do you provide?

I have two types of Organic Face Wash, an eye serum, a face cream and a toner. I call them ALWAYS YOUNG ORGANIC; I make them all and use only organic ingredients to make them. Once you go organic, you never go back! I offer skin resurfacing (MicroDerm and chemical peels). I also do hot stone facials and many types of custom facials; I also do head-to-toe body waxing. I love my what I do and am so lucky!

6. What do you hope to happen for the future of your business?

I see my business growing by leaps and bounds and hope to be the biggest skin care person in Klamath. I also hope to introduce more people to a line of organic skin care.  I have many more product ideas, which include a strech mark mask for moms with babies. I have body polish in the works along with an hour long body polish service that I hope to have on my menu soon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

