Posted by: Katie | September 24, 2012

Social Media Manager

Meg studied Magazine Journalism and English while at a university in New York and has a great interest in writing. She has a list of very influencial people that inspire her to follow her dreams; just recently, she was hired as a social media manager at a company in Virginia. Be sure to visit her blog: http://smallpicturesblog.com/

1. How did your interest in writing begin? What form of writing is your favorite?

That’s a question for which I should have an answer, but I don’t remember. I wrote a poem about an amusement park in second grade which got published (as I’m sure every submission did). Later, my eighth grade teacher had us write letters to ourselves that we opened when we graduated from high school. I told myself I hoped I was still writing. I think I signed up for all the creative writing, newspaper, yearbook mumbo jumbo in high school because people told me I was good at it. Then I quite enjoyed myself. It sounds like writing crept up on me and took over, like some large, overbearing parasite. Lovely. I like academic writing and the online content I write at work, because I know how to do it. My favorite form of writing is prose fiction, but it’s also the most difficult for me. I want to tackle it someday, maybe when I can rent a tiny cottage in some quaint beach town and fill my wardrobe with flowing skirts.

2. Do you have any favorite writers or quotes that inspire you?
I’ll give you a top 10 list of the people who are inspiring me right now, a few of whom will be on the list forever.  In no order…
1. Jane Austen, notably Pride and Prejudice
2. Tina Fey, 30 Rock and Bossypants
3. Mindy Kaling, The Office and Is Everyone Hanging Out with Me? (And Other Concerns)
4. Ayn Rand, notably The Fountainhead
5. Jim Frederick, Editor of TIME magazine and author of Black Hearts
6. Lena Dunham, Girls
7. Margaret Atwood, notably Cat’s Eye
8. Aaron Sorkin, notably The West Wing
9. Michael Herr, Dispatches
10. Kazuo Ishiguro, notably The Remains of the Day Also, this quote by Ira Glass is phenomenal. Any young writer or creative person will recognize truth and take solace in it: http://smallpicturesblog.com/2011/12/19/ira-glass-writing-quote/

3. Could you list a few jobs had before finding your latest job? 

I interned at Conde Nast two summers ago in New York City, and worked with the online teams for SELF, Lucky, Allure, and other magazines. I walked through Times Square twice a day and ate lunch in Central Park. It was a little bit magical. I also worked at Hallmark in high school, creating a lifelong addiction to greeting cards, especially those with no real purpose but which sing when you open them. When people tell stories of their nightmare jobs, I say mine was Gymboree, and they think I’m kidding. I worked there fifty hours a week while completing my last semester of college, and I can’t pass it in the mall without feeling my stomach plunge. So many tiny clothes, so much poor management, and a loop of Yo Gabba Gabba! songs: horrifying.

4. Have you gotten a lot of positive feedback about your blog? You have some great posts on there!

Thank you! My blog started as a way to stay sane and pretend I was a productive human while I looked for a job after graduation. It’s still a baby, but it’s growing. My friends and coworkers seem to enjoy it, and I get an excuse to write about pop culture, fashion, design, and my own mundane life in an annoying, sarcastic tone. Actually, I don’t try for that; it just oozes out of me. That’s probably a symptom of the parasite. I would love to do more; there are so many young, inspiring female bloggers who turn their blogs into careers: The Everygirl and Glitter Guide, for example. They are incredibly self-motivated and dedicated to success, and in return their lives are surrounded by beauty.

5. Do you have any favorite aspects of following a career path of writing?

I love that I have gotten the chance to read a lot and write a lot. As an English major, I read novels and short stories and poetry from all over the world which spanned hundreds of years. I wrote literary essays, in-depth analyses, and a bit of fiction. As a journalism major, I read the most visceral, meticulous, artfully narrative news pieces. I wrote newspaper articles, feature-length stories, learned about sourcing and word counts and the importance of research. All of the reading was wonderful. Some of the writing turned out okay. But to be a better writer you have to read a lot and write a lot, and doing that for the rest of forever sounds okay.

6. What are your career goals for the future? Any dream jobs?

Like I said, Pinterest. But really, I’m having a small crisis about my dreams at the moment; I think it’s a hazard of being 23.  I lately feel like there are so many people in the world who have to focus merely on survival, a task I take for granted. So how selfish is it to aspire to travel, love, write, and search for some enlightened, content form of living? But then again, is it also selfish not to take advantage of the miraculous blessing of my life? See, crisis. So, my dream is a life where helping other people also leads to a bunch of awesome things. You asked about a career; I gave you a philosophical rant. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

