Posted by: Katie | June 18, 2012

Learning guitar to band guitarist

Dylan shares his story of learning guitar to becoming a guitarist in two bands; first in Today we Fly and then in End of Silence (Which is in the process of changing their name). End of Silence is currently changing their style of music to more Indie Rock – keep tabs on them, everyone.

1. What musical genres or singers had the most influence on you when you were younger?

When I first started playing guitar, I was listening to a lot of classic rock. Bands like AC/DC, Pink Floyd, and Guns N Roses. The one guitarist who probably influenced me to start playing the most was a guy named Randy Rhoads. He was the original guitarist for Ozzy Osbourne’s solo project and the guy responsible for the song crazy train.

2. When did you start learning guitar and how challenging was it to learn the instrument?

I started playing when I was 13. It was my freshman year of high school and my cousin had just introduced me to Ozzy Osbourne. My dad is a guitarist who plays a lot of acoustic guitar. He gave me some pointers, but for the most part the internet taught me. I spent a lot of time that year in front of the computer working at it trying to learn everything I could. It was tough, but I really enjoyed it and the better I got, the more I loved it.

 

3. What process do you go through when forming a band name? Do you write any songs for the band?

I did not come up with the band names in either of my bands. In my most recent band, End Of Silence, I wrote most of the songs. A lot my writing happened when I was bored and in class and I would jot stuff down and then go home and work it out. A few of the songs, I just decided I wanted to write a song and sat in front of my guitar for about an hour or two.

4. In both circumstances, whose idea was it to form a band?

In my first band, Today We Fly, my friend Brett was their drummer. One of their guitarists quit and he called me up right away and asked if I wanted to come and jam with them. We clicked immediately and I ended up staying with them for two years. In End Of Silence, I was getting really restless last summer so I decided to answer a craigslist ad that our drummer put out for a metal band. I showed up on the same day as our singer and bass player and we decided that we wanted to try to come up with some stuff together.

 

5. How difficult is it to start out and play at gigs? How have you overcome these difficulties?

The hardest thing about starting out is that you don’t have a fan base, any reputation, and usually don’t have recordings. This makes it incredibly difficult when you contact a venue or promoter and have to just promise them that you can deliver. The more you play out and get recordings done, the easier it is to book shows because people can get a feel for what you are like. A lot of times in the beginning we just ended up messaging local bands and asking if we could open up for them until people started noticing us.

6. I believe your first band played during Summerfest – playing on any summerfest stage is a big deal (congrats)!!! Can you explain the experience and the excitement of that? Thank you! Summerfest was probably one of the best experiences in my life so far. It was such a thrill! My first band played there two years in a row. The first year we played, we were really nervous especially because we couldn’t fill the large time slot they gave us (1.5 hours). We had a relatively early slot, which isn’t necessarily bad because we didn’t have to compete with any headliners. It was a really good turnout and we ended up generating a large enough crowd that the next year we got to pick our time slot. We ended up releasing our CD at that show and it was even better than the first one. I would really love to do a show like that again. Nothing really compares to it.

7. Do you plan to continue a career in music or is it just a second job for you?

I would personally love to continue a career in music, but at this point I don’t really think it will happen. If it does, I’ll be thrilled and jump at the chance to do it. For now, though I’m just kind of living in the real world. I wouldn’t mind working somewhere that involves music in the future though either.

Leave a Reply

Categories

